..::drew’s blomblog::..


Milt Kahl Would Slap Me
November 30, 2005, 12:00 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Some people have called this last week “Thanksgiving break.” I did slip into a poultry-induced coma once or twice, but only to come back and get plugging away on my film. I’ve got over half of the scenes for it posed and timed out. There are also over half a dozen scenes “finalled.” The textures aren’t done and the lighting is just in a first pass, but I’ve managed to get seven scenes fully animated.

It’s exciting and even though I’m busy, I’ve still found ways to watch my favorite videos. I can’t stand Media Player, but iTunes doesn’t have that cool minimize and still watch the video feature. So here’s a work-around. Maya’s web browser is not the best way and it does jump around quite a bit. But the point is that you CAN watch videos while working in Maya.

(inset image copyright Keith Lango 2005. Character copyright Drew Blom 2005.)

Now I know this pushes the argument of whether or not one should listen to music while animating, but when you gotta animate and learn at the same time, there is little other choice. There are times when I can’t do both at the same time, but using the tools available has been a pretty good way to get some things done around here. At the same time, this could be useful for using video reference. Maya is a little tempermental about video file types, but .mov’s seem to work pretty well. I know that this is probably old hat to alot of people who have been using Maya for a while, but I hope it’ll help someone.

-d

2 Comments

I never thought about it, that i could watch my video reference inside maya using the web browser, totally awesome, thanks for the tip!

Comment by wlad

now only if i could figure out how to integrate a coffee machine, i’d be set.

Comment by Drew




Comments are closed.



