..::drew’s blomblog::..


Clock in, Clock out
November 14, 2005, 12:35 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I started this over at Spline Doctors, but instead of making this an immensly wordy post, I decided to post it her. It gives me a little more room and it isn’t impolite.

hey guys.

i don’t want to sound like too much of a “fanboy” and i really hate comments that gush just because “you’re on real pixar animator’s website.” with that said, this is really a great piece if advice. when you’re only 12 credits away from being a real college graduate, you start to reflect. i didn’t do animationmentor.com, even though it’s a great program, but it wasn’t around when i started school. i wish that i could just focus on character animation here at school, but (i say this with a lump in my throat) i’m glad that i’ve gotten a more broad education. but at the same time, i’ve had to be more dedicated than (some) others because i have to keep from getting sidetracked on the “other.”

This is a gross analogy, but I used to work in a factory. Several actually. And there is one thing that has really taught me a lot. I’m dipping down into a deep past that at times I wish I could erase, so please indulge me.

The most helpful piece of advice I can give is that if you want to be a good employee, not just animator, it really pays to know what happens to the piece, whether it’s a scene (in the case of animation) or a trailer house (in my former life) before you get it and after you get it. There is so much to learn by looking at what the people who setup the scene for you (layout) and what happens after you. In order to do something “right,” it takes a knowledge of what is going on in general.

The question of which school to choose in this case is really obsolete. It comes down to knowing “thyself.” Know what you want to do. That takes time and figure this out. With that in mind, it doesn’t matter as much where you study, but keep in mind what you want to do.

-d

2 Comments

hey drew ,thanks for the kind words about my artwork, all the best

Comment by nick

no probs, i really do like the designs.

-d

Comment by Drew




Comments are closed.



